Mustache Storytime

Here’s the song I wrote for Mustache Storytime. It was a huge hit!

Opening song: The more we get together with sign language

Mustache Baby by Bridget Heos
Mustache Storytime | Singin' in the Stacks

Flannel story: Mr. Lou’s Mustache
I got this from Leah and Mollie at Sunflower Storytime
(theirs looks a lot better than mine!)
Mustache Storytime | Singin' in the Stacks
There once lived a man named Mr. Lou,
He had a mustache that grew, and grew, and GREW!
On Monday it was as tiny as his nose,
On Tuesday it was as wide as his smile.
On Wednesday it stretched as far as his ears.
On Thursday it was as long as his arms!
But on Friday Mr. Lou caught the flu… ACHOOO!
and off went the mustache into the air as it flew, flew, FLEW!

 Mo’s Mustache by Ben Clanton
Mustache Storytime | Singin' in the Stacks

SONG: (I made this up in the shower one day…)

Head Shoulders Knees and MUSTACHE!
Pretty self explanatory.
It went over quite well!

Cowlick by Christin Ditchfield 
Mustache Storytime | Singin' in the Stacks

Craft- Mustaches on a craft stick.

Mustache Storytime | Singin' in the Stacks

Easy. Yet so much fun. I’m pretty sure I used a printable from pinterest and printed them out onto (trimmed to fit into the printer) black construction paper. I’d link to the file but I’m not sure where it went… I had the kids cut them because I don’t let them cut much and I thought it would be good practice.

(I actually have a great song for cutting too.. I got it from the classroom where I do outreach.. ) The tune is a modified version of Frère Jacques. I should make a video but the text is:
Scissor Chant | Singin' in the Stacks

Looking back on this plan it seems rather short but I guess it wasnt…
The kids LOVED it. We had a great time!

2 thoughts on “Mustache Storytime

Leave a Reply

