Pajama Storytime

This plan is from a special evening event that I had back at the beginning of January. It was a big success! Except next time I MUST remember to wear cool pajamas! I hadn’t sufficiently planned ahead with my laundry-doing so that I could dress in theme this time but EVERY ONE of the participants came in PJs. I felt totally lame.

Pajama Storytime | Singin' in the Stacks
Book:
Llama Llama Red Pajama by Anna Dewdney
I think this is one of my absolute favorite children’s books. It’s so sweet and perfect for a pajama theme.

Pajama Storytime | Singin' in the Stacks
Song/flannel: 
10 in the Bed
The templates for this are fantastic- I got them from Making Learning Fun. I love when I find something online that looks so cute and I can easily replicate it! They have a TON of really good ideas over there.

Pajama Storytime | Singin' in the Stacks
Book:
The Goodnight Train by June Sobel

Flannel Rhyme: “Hey diddle diddle”


Pajama Storytime | Singin' in the StacksWe did the rhyme twice, once with me modeling it and then again together. After that, I had the kids participate by coming up to the flannel board and jumping the cow over the moon. They really liked that!

Pajama Storytime | Singin' in the Stacks
Book:
Dinosaur vs Bedtime by Bob Shea
Any variation of this book is ALWAYS a hit! I think this worked well in contrast to the other books too and was a fun spike of energy before we started winding down the evening.

Pajama Storytime | Singin' in the Stacks
Lullaby/Book:
Hush, little baby by Brian Pinkney
I sang this and I think the kids really enjoyed it. They seemed entranced. Which was a big contrast from the previous book.

Closing Song:
My hands say thank you with a clap clap clap
My feet say thank you with a tap tap tap
Hands clap
Feet tap
Roll your hands and wave Bye bye!

Craft: Decorate your own pajamas!
Decorate your PJs | Pajama Storytime Craft from Singin' in the Stacks
I linked to this image on my Pinterest because for some reason the image is broken on the link where I got it from (Pittsburgh Toy Lending Library’s blog). Anyways, as you can see, it is originally from Sprout kids. Normally I do crafts that are a bit more complex but since this storytime was geared toward a less specific age range, I figured it would be nice to have options. I put out crayons, as well as some gluesticks for adhearing sequins, tissue paper and the like for those interested in a little more texture.

Early Literacy Tip: Reading with your child each night before bed is a great habit to get into. It helps you both relax and unwind and works on your child’s early literacy skills too!

Leave a Reply

