Valentine’s Day

Life is so funny sometimes, isn’t it?
We had icy weather here in MD on Tuesday so the schools in our county were closed and no one came to storytime!
I had such a fun plan ready too! But I didn’t let it get me down- I have lots of other stuff coming up that’s keeping me busy!
But here’s what I was planning to do if we had had a program:

Opening Song: Skinnamarink with ASL
I was thinking instead of doing our usual The More We Get Together, we would start with this because it’s long-ish when you go over all the signs first and then sing it twice. And I wanted to make sure I had time for everything I wanted to fit in. 
Valentine's Day | Singin' in the Stacks
Bob’s Favorite Sing Along Songs
So this CD is one that I LOVE because it has ACCOMPANIMENT TRACKS! Sadly his song choices are not my favorite so there are really only a handful of tracks on here that I would make use of BUT I appreciate the concept nonetheless. Way to go, Bob!

I find it so awkward to sing while someone else is singing on a cd. I’d much rather just sing a capella but I find that getting kids/people in general to sing along with you is sometimes easier with background music. Their voices feel less exposed maybe, I don’t know. Anyways, We would have sung with this track and done some ASL as notated in my messy shorthand below:

Valentine's Day | Singin' in the Stacks
So, as you can see, if you can understand my notes: The signs are on the right and the lyrics are on the left. I have highlighted in pink on what text the sign goes with. I crossed out the sign for “afternoon” because I just felt like it was rushed in that part trying to fit everything in and I didn’t want it to be too difficult for the kids/adults to follow along with.

Valentine's Day | Singin' in the Stacks
Froggy’s First Kiss by Jonathon London
I love this book! My mom actually bought me a copy of it as a surprise last week when the copies in our system had lots of holds 🙂

Flannel/Song: Little Red Valentine (Skip to my Lou)
I got this song from my coworker, Liz (who blogs at Storytime Whoopdeedo) and I really love it for many reasons but especially because it only involves only 2 chords!!
I was planning to play it on my uke and have the kids bring the hearts up at the appropriate times.

(I know I’m contradicting myself here because I don’t usually hand stuff out to kids until the last moment but it’s difficult for one to play an instrument, sing, keep track of what color we’re on AND wrangle various flannel pieces. )

I made a paper with the order of the colors to assist with this process but who knows, it might have been chaos. I probably would have just sung it with the paper and the hearts already up on the flannel board if we had a big group.

Valentine's Day | Singin' in the Stacks

Little Red Valentine, I love you.
Little Red Valentine, I love you.
Little Red Valentine, I love you.
Orange one says, “I do, too!”
Little Orange Valentine, I love you.
Little Orange Valentine, I love you.
Little Orange Valentine, I love you.
Yellow one says, “I do, too!”
Little Yellow Valentine, I love you.
Little Yellow Valentine, I love you.
Little Yellow Valentine, I love you.
Green one says, “I do, too!”
Little Green Valentine, I love you.
Little Green Valentine, I love you.
Little Green Valentine, I love you.
Blue one says, “I do, too!”
Little Blue Valentine, I love you.
Little Blue Valentine, I love you.
Little Blue Valentine, I love you.
Purple one says, “I do, too!”
Little Purple  Valentine, I love you.
Little Purple  Valentine, I love you.
Little Purple  Valentine, I love you.
Pink one says, “I do, too!”
Little Pink  Valentine, I love you.
Little Pink  Valentine, I love you.
Little Pink  Valentine, I love you.
Everyone one says, “We do, too!

 

Valentine's Day Chocolate Box Poem- Singin' in the Stacks
Special Valentine Poem! For more info and the poem inside see this post

Song- You are my sunshine
The plan was to play this on the uke and sing it all together kumbaya style 🙂

Valentine's Day | Singin' in the Stacks
My heart is like a zoo by Michael Hall

Valentine's Day | Singin' in the Stacks
The Day it Rained Hearts by Felicia Bond

Early Literacy Tip: Make valentines with your child out of scrap paper, stickers and other supplies you have around the house. Show your child how to spell each person’s name on the valentine, naming each letter and saying the name as you read it. Learning to write the words “Mom” and “Dad” or the name of a special friend, will make your child feel very proud!

Closing: “Goodbye Friends” from Jbrary

Goodbye Friends
Goodbye Friends
Goodbye Friends
It’s time to say, Goodbye!

Craft: Making Valentines for our friends

Be as creative as you want and make some valentines for the people you love!

Leave a Reply

