Pizza Storytime

This storytime plan came almost entirely from one of my most loyal blog readers… my MOM 🙂

She always told me this program was one of her favorites and now I can see why- it was a definite hit with the Preschool kids!


Curious George and the Pizza by Margret & H.A. Rey
I was pleasantly surprised at how much the kids enjoyed this book. I only wished the book was bigger. We had around 25 kids on Tuesday and I was worried that not everyone could see the pictures.
Song: If you want to eat some pizza (to the tune of If you’re happy and you know it)

If you want to eat some pizza… (insert action phrase here- options include…clap your hands, raise your hand, jump up high, stomp your feet, do a dance, sit back down etc etc)
If you want to eat some pizza….
If you want to eat some pizza…..
If you like bubbly cheese, then just say “Pizza please!”
If you want to eat some pizza,…..

 


Pete’s a Pizza by William Steig
The reactions I got from the kids on this one were really funny. At one point the kids were shouting things like “He’s gonna cut him up!” or “He’s gonna throw him out the window!”
I blame violent movies and video games for this reaction.
They’re just playing pretend, kids. His dad isn’t going to chop him up.
This is a childrens book.
Clearly my preschoolers have no faith in my book selection skills if they thought I would read them a book about cannibalism. I digress..

 

Song- “I am a pizza” from the Margie La Bella Music Therapy Website
This song rocks! I played it on my ukelele and had the kids sing along with the echo. I think everyone had fun with it.


Hi Pizza Man! By Virginia Walter

 

Flannel Board Pizza Activity
So next we made a pizza together with the felt pieces which, as you might expect,
live adorably live inside this box.
Singin' in the Stacks | Pizza Storytime
I gave everyone a few of the same topping so that I could call out the various items and the kids could come up to put them on the pizza in a reasonably orderly fashion. Good times were had.


Singin' in the Stacks | Pizza Storytime
It was also handy to be able to hold the pizza box- no worrying about things falling off the flannel board plus I could walk it around wherever I liked..
Singin' in the Stacks | Pizza Storytime

Closing: Lately I’ve been doing “Goodbye friends” from Jbrary but in the moment I decided that this would be a cute way to end (and we were running over on time!) The following verses can be subbed in and out as desired. I definitely skipped a couple in the middle.

Pizza man, pizza man, turn around

Pizza man, pizza man, turn around
Pizza man, pizza man, touch the ground
Pizza man, pizza man, smell a rose
Pizza man, pizza man, touch your toes
Pizza man, pizza man, turn around
Pizza man, pizza man, sit back down
Pizza man, pizza man, shake your head
Pizza man, pizza man, go to bed
Pizza man, pizza man, touch the sky
Pizza man, pizza man, wave goodbye

 

Alternate Books:


Hold the Anchovies by Shelley Rotner



Little Red Hen Makes a Pizza by Philomen Sturges

Fingerplay:
“Mix a pizza,
Stir a pizza,
Knead it on the pan,
Toss the pizza
Swirl the pizza
Catch it if you can!”

 

Craft: Pizzas on paper plates.
Pretty self explanatory.
Obviously, I made my sauce pink but there were a lot of yummy-looking and creative pizzas out there!

Singin' in the Stacks | Pizza Storytime

Leave a Reply

