Mice Storytime

Storytime went well today! We had just the right number of instruments for each kid. (I grabbed a rhythm stick out of the closet for myself at the last minute!)
I use same framework each week and just modify the content. If you’re interested in my goodbye/hello songs check out my new post: the usual. I’ll update this section soon to include some other resources that I use for planning but for now it just has my template.

On to today!

Singin' in the Stacks | Mouse Storytime
The Tiny Mouse by Janis Ian
To be honest, I decided I didn’t like this book while reading it in storytime today. Definitely wouldn’t use it again but it was okay. The upside is that the author has the same name as a character in Mean Girls. So there’s that.

Hickory Dickery Dock


Hickery Dickery Dock Flannel Singin' in the Stacks | Mouse Storytime

We did the rhyme together with this flannel I made and the kids really enjoyed participating. They wanted to do verse after verse!

Storybox Activity:

If you give a mouse a cookie by Laura Joffe Numeroff

In the box: 
Mouse doll or puppet (two are pictured just because I like decorating the room for the theme a little but you really only need one)
Play cookie
Cup
Straw
Mirror
Scissors
Brush
Box
Blanket
Books
Paper and crayons
Pen
Scotch tape
Singin' in the Stacks | If You Give a Mouse a Cookie Story Box Props

I have the text of the book typed out so that I can have the various items required highlighted. Basically I just read the story and took the items out of the box as it went along.. We had a lot of fun guessing what came next!


Cat and Mouse by Ian Schoenherr

Boomwhackers
Today I introduced the kids to the awesome instruments my library was able to get with money from the foundation! I was pleasantly surprised by how smoothly it went over for the first time! I think the key (to any potentially loud/chaos-inducing activity, really) is to set your expectations very plainly right from the start. I told them what a special treat it is that we have these instruments and that we can only play them if we have been good. They almost completely obliged with this.

The first song we did was a variation on “If you’re happy and you know it” to get them comfortable with how it was going to go. I always start and end in “Rest Position” with our instruments on our head. The reason for this is that if rest position is on the floor, they WILL play while you’re trying to talk which is annoying. So we played a steady beat and sang:

“If you’re happy and you know it, tap your stick (tap, tap)
If you’re happy and you know it, tap your stick
If you’re happy and you know it and you really wanna show it,
If you’re happy and you know it, tap your stick.”

The next verse I asked them if mice are quiet or loud animals and taught them that the music word for soft is Piano, so we sang:

“”If you’re happy and you know it, tap it soft
If you’re happy and you know it, tap it soft
If you’re happy and you know it and you really wanna show it,
If you’re happy and you know it, tap it soft”

 and the special music word for loud is Forte:
“”If you’re happy and you know it, tap it loud
If you’re happy and you know it, tap it loud
If you’re happy and you know it and you really wanna show it,
If you’re happy and you know it, tap it loud”

I’ll substitute in the musical terms next time, I didn’t want to go too crazy on day 1.
Next we did FAST and SLOW and a couple combinations. For example I occasionally do “really soft and really fast” or “soft and slow.” The bottom line is that you can make this activity last as long as you need it to and they honestly did so great with this today! I’m excited to do more with these instruments!

Then we sang Three Blind Mice and played with a steady beat.

Craft: Mouse shapes

 

Alternates Books/Activities

Flannel rhyme: Mouse House. Hide the mouse under a different colored house and say “Little mouse, little mouse, are you in the ________ house?”

Flannel Story: “Mouse Paint” By Ellen Stoll Walsh

Mouse was mad by Linda Urban
Mouse Views by Bruce McMillan
The Little Mouse, The Red Ripe Strawberry and the Big Hungry Bear by Don and Audrey Wood


3 thoughts on “Mice Storytime

  1. I am a music teacher turned YS assistant and this blog is definitely timely for me! I was starting to wonder what I should do with all of my musical instruments. I’m feeling quite inspired. Thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

