Socks & Shoes Storytime

I’m back from vacation! Here’s the preschool plan I did the week before I left.

After our Hello Song, I told them I was late to work today and I didn’t get to finish sorting my laundry. I asked the kids if they’d ever been late before and they said no which made the parents laugh 🙂

Socks & Shoes Storytime | Singin' In The StacksSo we sorted “my” socks! We had a nice small group today so I was able to hand out a few socks and have the kids come up when I pointed to the match of the one they had in their hand. They liked it a lot and it was a good chance to get them talking about the various colors and patterns they saw.

Sally and the purple socks by Lisze Bechtold

Song: “Everybody knows I love my toes”

I got this song from Jbrary via Miss Meg’s Shoes and Socks storytime post
Lyrics are

Everybody knows I love my toes.
I love my shoulders, my knees, my elbows, and my nose.
But everybody knows I love my toes.

Everybody knows that I love my foot
Everybody knows that I love my foot
I love my shoulders, my knees, my elbows, and my tush
But everybody knows I love my foot!

Everybody knows that I love my shoe
I love my shirt, my pants, my socks, and you
But everybody knows I love my shoe!

Flannel: Pete the cat I love my white shoes

Pete the Cat Flannel Socks & Shoes Storytime | Singin' In The Stacks
This is not the most flattering photo of Pete. He looks way better in real life, I swear!
I love this flannel but putting on his various socks all through the story was a little laborious for my tastes.. I need to just read the book in the future. He’s just so cute! It’s hard to resist!

Song: This is What My Feet Can Do! (to the tune of Mary Had a Little Lamb)
This is what my feet can do, feet can do, feet can do.
This is what my feet can do
Can you do it too?

Let your feet go up and down, up and down, up and down
Let your feet go up and down,
Up and down.

Let your feet go hop, hop, hop; hop, hop, hop; hop, hop, hop
Let your feet go hop, hop, hop
All around the room.

Can your feet go tiptoeing, tiptoeing, tiptoeing
Can your feet go tiptoeing,
All around the room.

Make your feet go jump, jump, jump, jump, jump, jump, jump,
Make your feet go jump, jump, jump
All around the room.

Now your feet can sit right down, sit right down, sit right down,
Now your feet can sit right down,
Quietly, please.

I got the idea for this from Miss Meg’s Storytime post about Socks and Shoes but then I changed some of the action words around.

 Duck Sock Hop by Jane Kohuth

Head, Shoulders, Knees and Toes faster and faster until the kids are panting. Then stop.

Have you seen my new blue socks by Eve Bunting

This was the first week we used my newly aquired BOOMWHACKERS!
Boomwhackers! Socks & Shoes Storytime | Singin' In The Stacks

The kids LOVED. IT. And I was so excited about that 🙂 I’ll post more about these when I get a chance!

Craft: Crazy Socks!
sockse
Basically I found some sock clip art online and printed it out onto heavyweight multicolored paper and let the kids go to town. Easy!

One thought on “Socks & Shoes Storytime

Leave a Reply

