Dancing Storytime

I’m still here!!
Just been unbelievably overwhelmed with Summer Reading this past month! I’ll do my best to get back at the blogging- I have quite a backlog of posts to share. This is a pretty simple one 🙂

Giraffes can’t dance by Giles Andreae

Looby Loo from Bob’s Favorite Sing Along Songs
I love this CD because it has both tracks with a voice on it and tracks with just instrumentals so that you can sing to it. I wish there were a few more of my favorites on this CD but the ones I do like on here get a good bit of use. It’s sometimes fun to have music behind you when you’re singing but I like the flexibility of being able to do my own thing without another voice in the background. I still sing mostly a capella in storytime but this is a good alternative.

Action Rhyme: “We Can Jump”
We can jump, jump, jump
We can hop, hop, hop
We can clap, clap, clap
We can stop, stop, stop
We can nod our heads for yes
We can shake our heads for no
We can bend our knees a little bit
And sit down really slow

 

Dancing Feet by Lindsey Craig

Have you seen the trampoline?
from the 
Jim Gill Folks of all Stripes cd
Great for getting our energy out! I love the bouncing!!

Croaky Pokey by Ethan Long
Classic. Always a hit 🙂

List of Alternates Books/Activities/Songs
Hilda must be dancing by Karma Wilson
Brontorina by James Howe
Color Dance by Ann Jonas

Jim gill: list of dances

Fingerplay: “Dance Your Fingers Up”
from Washington County Cooperative Library Services

Dance your fingers up, dance your fingers down
Dance your fingers to the side, dance them all around
Dance them on your shoulders, dance them on you head
Dance them on your tummy, and put them all to bed

Craft: Dancing Shoes
shoe
I found the template for these on pinterest. This is the site I got it from.
The lacing activity was a great way for the kids to practice their fine motor skills AND a good way for us to use up some extra pieces of ribbon we had lying around. Win Win!

Leave a Reply

