Firefighter Storytime

The idea for this storytime came first from the Summer Reading Club theme. I decided to have this program as a lead up to the Community Heroes program (a visit from the FD and Police) that my branch is hosting in a few weeks. It was a great way to promote that and get kids excited about what’s to come!

We actually made the hats first and so that the kids could wear them during the program. This worked great!

Craft: Fireman Hat

Firefighter Storytime | Singin' In The StacksThis is me modeling my fire fighter hat 🙂

Materials: Print outs of fire hats (my coworker provided me with the template or I’d share it here! Sorry!) , Scissors. Staplers (or tape?). The staplers worked best for putting these together, I ended up having them precut and ready to size on the kids so that this didn’t take to much time.

Firefighter Storytime | Singin' In The StacksFirefighter Ted by Andrea Beaty and Pascal Lemaitre

Firefighter Storytime | Singin' In The Stacks

Song & Flannel: Wheels on the truck- while pointing to the various items on the truck flannel board. I got the pattern from Making Learning Fun and it was a big hit! Very easy to make and it was a great visual aid. They have a bunch of great resources for a fire theme, actually. Check it out!

Firefighter Storytime | Singin' In The StacksI’m Brave by Jim and Kate McMullan

Both books I read today included great opportunities to educate the kids on fire safety. In “I’m Brave,” I asked them who you’re supposed to call if there is a fire and then we talked about what you’re supposed to do when there’s a firetruck or other emergency vehicle behind you on the road. I was pleasently surprised with the answers the kids gave- They knew a lot of this stuff! It’s always good to have a refresher though!

Song: Hurry, hurry, drive the fire truck
Hurry, hurry, drive the fire truck
Hurry, hurry, drive the fire truck
Ding, ding, ding, ding, ding!

Hurry, hurry, turn the corner
Hurry, hurry, turn the corner
Hurry, hurry, turn the corner
Ding, ding, ding, ding, ding!

Hurry, hurry, climb the ladder
Hurry, hurry, climb the ladder
Hurry, hurry, climb the ladder
Ding, ding, ding, ding, ding!

Hurry, hurry, squirt the water
Hurry, hurry, squirt the water
Hurry, hurry, squirt the water
Ding, ding, ding, ding, ding!

Slowly, slowly, back to the station
Slowly, slowly, back to the station
Slowly, slowly, back to the station
Ding, ding, ding, ding, ding!

Community Helper Hats Flannel:
Firefighter Storytime | Singin' In The Stacks

I got this flannel template (and the picture above) again, from Making Learning Fun. But instead of doing the cat poem and hiding him under the hats, I made clues and had the kids guess which hat I was talking about before I put them up on the flannel board.
Hints I used:

Farmer- I wear this hat to keep the sun out of my eyes while I tend to my crops.
Birthday- I wear this hat on my special day
Magician: Sometimes this hat makes a bunny appear
Police: I wear this hat when I catch bad guys
Nurse: I wear this hat when I help people at the hospital
Cowboy: I wear this hat while I ride my horse in the wild west.
Construction: I wear this hat while hammering and drilling and building things
Chef: I wear this hat to keep my hair out of my eyes while preparing your food.
Mailman: I wear this hat while I bring mail and packages to your house
Firefighter: I wear this hat to keep my head safe from danger in a burning building.

Activity: STOP DROP AND ROLL!
We practiced this many times so that the kids could “earn” their special certificate. I had them help me when I would “accidentally” forget what to do next, which they ALWAYS enjoy 😉

Additional Crafts: Because I just thought they were so cute (and EASY!)
Stop Drop and Roll Certificates which I also got from Making Learning Fun and this Coloring sheet from Sparky.org. The sparky website really rocks! It’s produced by NFPA and designed for kids, teachers and parents. They even have a couple free apps.

This program ended up being more activity heavy than usual but I must say- it was a big success! I think straying from the “typical storytime” mold and putting different elements together helps both the kids and the presenter stay engaged. We had a great turn out and everyone got really into the theme.

One thought on “Firefighter Storytime

Leave a Reply

