Sports Storytime

Warm up: We did Jumping Jacks, High knees, Playful stretching and had a casual discussion about sports. (I asked them “who can name a sport?” “does anyone play sports?” etc)

Sports Storytime | Singin' In The StacksDino football by Lisa Wheeler
This book was a little long so some of the pages I paperclipped together so that we could skip ahead. I enjoyed the rhyming and the sports vocabulary in this book but to be honest, I think it was over my PreK group’s head even after I shortened it.

Activity: Identifying and exploring different sports balls.
I brought in a variety of athletic balls to pass around. Talked about the similarities and differences as well as the name of the balls and the sound that first letter makes.

(ELS extra- Kids benefit most from learning the sounds and the letters at the same time. When you talk to your kids about letters, see if you can put the sound and the name of the letter together. So you might explain that the letter R for Rebecca makes the sound Rrrr.)

Song: Baseball Player (sung to Frere Jacques)
We did a little movement/dance to go along with this song- you can probably guess the

Baseball player, baseball player
Swing the bat, hit the ball (Pretend to swing a baseball bat.)
Run around the bases, run around the bases (Pretend to be running.)
Homerun, homerun

Sports Storytime | Singin' In The StacksDunk Skunk by Michael Rex

Song: Take Me Out To The Ball Game! with motions
Most of the kids had never heard this song before.

I REPEAT:
MOST OF THE KIDS HAD NEVER HEARD THIS SONG BEFORE!
CRAZYNESS!

Take me out to the ball game,
Take me out with the crowd;
Buy me some peanuts and Cracker Jacks,
I don’t care if I ever get back.
Cause it’s root, root, root for the home team,
If they don’t win, it’s a shame.
For it’s one, two, three strikes, you’re out,
At the old ball game

Sports Storytime | Singin' In The StacksGoodnight football by Michael Dahl

One way you can Extend the Early literacy lesson at home:
Show letters in the context of objects that they can touch or play with like we did with the various sports balls. You could use anything around the house or outside. This will work on their vocabulary also!

Craft: Soccer balls on paper plates
I found this craft on Pinterest (as I do with almost all of my crafts!) I forgot to take a picture of mine so here’s an example courtesy of google images:

Sports Storytime | Singin' In The Stacks

Alternate Book:
Sergio saves the game by Edel Rodriguez
This book is also cute but it was too long to fit in with the other stuff I wanted to do. Hopefully I can fit it in another time!

This program didn’t include my favorite books but I think the potential is really there to expand the concept into multiple events, (thinking next year’s SRC Program?) I also liked that this theme contrasted a bit with what I have done in the past. I’m always looking to do storytimes that are different- both for me and for the kids and parents.

One thought on “Sports Storytime

Leave a Reply

