Fair Storytime


Billy Goat and the State Fair by Dan Yaccarino
I very much enjoy this new book! It was the inspiration for this whole program.
Definitely recommend that you check it out!

List of Dances by Jim Gill
(I wish I had a super cool banner like this one!! I just wrote the words on the whiteboard but it worked just as well.)


Cows to the Rescue by John Himmelman
Say the title all together. Ask what a cow wears around their neck then ring the bell. Have the group say the title when they hear the sound of the bell. Practice this together then jump into the book! This was an excellent method for encouraging participation and it saved my voice from having to excitedly exclaim “COW’S TO THE RESCUE” every other page


F-A-I-R Song/Activity
I made these cards with the letters and first asked if anyone knew how to spell the word FAIR.
Next, I showed them each letter one by one and they identified them aloud. Then, I set them on my music stand so that everyone could see the full word. I pointed to each letter as we sang and we challenged ourselves to see how fast we could sing it. (To the tune of B-I-N-G-O!)
“F-A-I-R
F-A-I-R
F-A-I-R
F-A-I-R spells fair”


Roller Coster by Marlee Frazier
This book has so many good examples of early literacy elements that you can highlight which makes for a fun ending book. 

Parachute Activities:

  1. Happy and you know it
    If you’re happy and you know it walk around,
    If you’re happy and you know it walk this way (point other way)
    If you’re happy and you know it push it up
    If you’re happy and you know it pull it down
  2. Round and round the ferris wheel goes
    Round and round the ferris wheel goes
    First you’re up then do-own
    Where it stops, nobody knows
    Up on the ferris wheel!
  3. Jbrary’s Elevator song modified:
    Oh the fair is great, oh the fair is grand
    There’s a whole lot of fun on that little piece of land
    When you step right up to the roller coaster floor
    This is what we’ll do when they close the door
    We take the roller coaster up and the roller coaster down
    Then we’re safe on the ground!

Craft: Paper Plate Clowns

Materials:
Paper plates
Bows (pdf)
Clown noses
Crayons
Glue sticks

I always like to do simple crafts with minimal materials because I think it encourages the kids to be creative and not just copy the example. This was a fun activity for that.

List of Alternates Books/Activities/Songs
Sidewalk circus by Paul Fleischman
Playground Day by Jennifer J. Mertz
Night Sky Wheel Ride by Sheree Fitch
A fabulous fair alphabet by Debra Frasier

Leave a Reply

