Jazz Storytime

Hello everyone! I’m back from my long hiatus. Here’s what I did today:

Jazz Storytime | Singin' in the Stacks
This Jazz Man by Karen Ehrhardt

Jazz Storytime | Singin' in the Stacks
I got rhythm by Connie Schofield-Morrison

Jazz Storytime | Singin' in the Stacks
Jazz Baby by Lisa Wheeler

In addition to these three books, we also did an activity where we sang the numbers song and felt the beat of the song on different areas of our body aka body percussion. The numbers song is something I found online (though I regretfully can’t remember where..) and I find the kids catch onto it quickly. It was a good activity to do right after “This Jazz Man” too since they’d just counted up to 10 in that song. It’s basically counting to the melody of Wheels on the Bus.

After that, we danced to “I’ve Got the Rhythm” by Splash’N Boots. It’s track 3 on this cd which is quickly becoming one of my very favorites. They have several really great tracks for storytime!
Jazz Storytime | Singin' in the Stacks

The craft was this AWESOME trumpet mosaic!!
Jazz Craft | Singin' in the Stacks
I got the idea from the “Jazzy Preschool Lesson” over at Cutting Tiny Bites and then just edited it to work for the materials I had at hand and my crowd.
Materials:
One trumpet (printed and cut out prior to storytime)
White cardstock
Assorted colors of tissue paper (ripped/cut into little pieces)
Glue sticks

First, I put on jazz music and told the kids to cover the whole paper in colors so that you can hardly see any of the white left. When they were finished with this, I passed out the trumpets for them to glue on top! It was easy and the final products looked really pretty- I wish I had gotten a picture of some of the kids’ work but I was busy with crowd control.
This program went over fantastically!!! The kids participated a lot with each of the different books and they I loved that I was able to do something cultural and musical that would be a bit different. We also had 2 day cares show up so we had more than 30 kids- a lot more than we have been typically getting during the winter months! One of my other favorite parts of this plan is that each book I presented included a rainbow of ethnicities in it’s characters- always an important element to consider regardless of what your usual storytime crowd looks like. I almost feel like diverse books are MORE important in homogeneous neighborhoods so that kids learn that we’re all the same.

Anyways, other books I liked on this theme are:
Jazz-ma-tazz by Stephanie Calmenson
Squeak, Rumble, Whomp! By Wynton Marsalis
Cool Daddy Rat by Kristyn Crow
Jazz Baby by Carole Boston Weatherford
Ruby Sings the Blues by Niki Daly
Jazzy Miz Mozetta by Brenda C. Roberts
Theo and the Blue Note by Peter Kuper
He’s got the whole world in his hands by Kadir Nelson

 

One thought on “Jazz Storytime

Leave a Reply

